Of Degas’ Little Dancer and the Madness in this World (a.k.a Inday’s Midnight Musings)

imageWhen we first went to Paris in 2009, we simply had no extra money to buy a copy of my favorite Degas sculpture in bronze- The Fourteen-Year-Old Little Dancer (Edgar Degas, 1881).  And it slipped off my mind during our second visit. Last year, I was ever so tempted to buy this, but I noticed that the price has gone up by 10 euros, and suddenly it was not tempting anymore. Instead, I bought a book about Degas’ Little Dancer called Marie at Musee D’Orsay, which costs less but gives my girls so much happiness every time their dad reads it to them for bedtime stories.

Our visit this year was not the most ideal. Whereas before, I enjoyed the seemingly endless walk from Arc de Triomphe to Place de la Concorde, finally resting at Jardin des Tuilieries with a book in my hand, letting my ohsocurly hair be blown away thru windy days, I wasn’t as carefree this year when our family went to Paris. Yes, I had 3 very excited children to look after, but it was more of a feeling of restlessness. I was wary about the narrow cobblestoned alleys when they have always been my favorite parts in Paris, and the people walking behind me, beside me, when I would feel this cheerfulness/skippy-ness in my heart just by watching people and Paris pass me by.

I don’t even know now if I should be happy that I finally bought this Degas sculpture, never mind that it is around 20 euros more compared to our first visit. I told my children, who were busily devouring cheese and croissant and ice cream: ok let us enjoy Paris, eat cheese, and be merry. Do not forget our time here as a family because I don’t think we are coming back soon- I realise now that I meant every word😢

There is a madness in this world that is difficult to comprehend and accept. It used to be that when we go home to our family and loved ones, we leave our worries at the door and forget about them. But it is different now. I go home and I am thankful but I worry about other children and other families. What uplifts me is that I see friends who are also doing their part to make this world kinder to its children.

What should we do? Be kind. Be generous. Give out hugs and kisses and smiles-  they are free. Reach out. Don’t let our children go to the dark side. Don’t make them feel alone and unloved. Because it all starts with these feelings of isolation and neglect.

‘To whom much is given, much is expected.’ And as my favorite poet, Maya Angelou, urged: When you learn, teach. When you get, give.

 

Leave a comment